Stockholm 2007 Highlights

Presidential Award

The ERS President takes great pleasure in honouring Professor Peter Barnes, perhaps the leading voice in respiratory medicine, as the 2007 ERS Presidential Awardee.

Congress Chair Award

The Congress Chairs take great pleasure in honouring Professor Kjell Larsson as the 2007 ERS Congress Chair Awardee.

Kjell Larsson is given this award in recognition of his strong commitment to respiratory medicine, within Sweden and the Nordic countries as well as internationally.

Educational Award

The Educational Award is presented in honour of a European clinician, scientist or allied medical professional who has made a contribution of extraordinary magnitude to education in respiratory medicine, or allied fields, at a European or international level. Education is defined in its broadest sense to include career achievements that have had a major impact on the development or delivery of knowledge.

This year, the ERS is proud to present this award to Professor Ewald Rudolf Weibel for his major contribution to our understanding of the quantitative morphology of the human lung and the relationship between structural design and lung function.

ELF Award

In 2007 the ELF is proud to present this award to Professor Bert Brunekreef, in recognition of his outstanding commitment to lung health and environmental protection for the citizens of Europe.